15 Jul 2011

Indonesia & Government

Country in southeast Asia, made up of 13,677 islands situated on or near the Equator, between the Indian and Pacific oceans. It is the world's fourth most populous country, surpassed only by China, India, and the USA.
The 1945 constitution (amended 1950 and 1969) is based on a state ideology, the Pancacila (Five Principles), of monotheism, humanitarianism, Indonesian unity,
representative democracy by consensus, and social justice. The people's consultative council (Majelis Permusyawaratan Rakyat, MPR) is the supreme organ of state. It comprises 500 members of the house of representatives (Dewan Perwakilan Rakyat, DPR) as well as 500 appointed representatives from regional assemblies and functional groups (including 200 from the armed forces). It sits once every five years to elect an executive president and vice-president, and sanctions the guidelines of state policy. The DPR functions as a single-chamber legislature, comprising 400 directly elected members and 100 presidential appointees (of whom three-quarters represent the armed forces). It meets at least once a year, with elections every five years. Indonesia has a three-party system, with Golkar holding power since 1967. The president (elected every five years by the MPR) works with an appointed cabinet, exercises the right of veto over DPR bills, and appoints governors for each of Indonesia's 27 provinces.

No comments:

Post a Comment

Jef's Article Copyright © 2011 | Template created by O Pregador | Powered by Blogger